Kate Lindsey & Arcangelo
Featuring cantatas and operatic extracts by Monteverdi, Monari, Alessandro Scarlatti and Handel, the programme offers ample outlets for Kate Lindsey’s remarkably committed vocal artistry, and for Arcangelo’s peerless responsivness and ensemble.

Featured works

  • A. Scarlatti: ‘Io son Neron’
  • Handel: ‘Agrippina condotta a morire’ HWV110
  • Monteverdi: extracts from ‘L’incoronazione di Poppea’
  • Monari: ‘La Poppea’
  • A. Scarlatti: ‘La Morte di Nerone’

Press & Praise

“All this compelling music, so vitally performed by Lindsey as she ranges fearlessly from raging outburst to intimate confession, exploring countless shades of colour and dynamic along the way, and all so perfectly accompanied by Arcangelo, is a model of what a recital album can be.” – Gramophone Editor’s Choice

“Kate Lindsey se montre absolument magistrale. La richesse et la variété de ses couleurs vocales, l’ambiguïté qu’elle déploie tout au long de l’album, ainsi que le sens aigu de la théâtralité qu’elle sait mettre en avant dans tous ces extraits musicaux, sont des atouts éminemment appréciables. […] À ses côtés, Jonathan Cohen et les sept musiciens d’Arcangelo se montrent attentifs au moindre détail, déployant mille couleurs en faisant sonner joyeusement les âpretés et les dissonances d’une écriture instrumentale aussi puissante qu’innovante. Un disque détonnant, dont il sera difficile de se lasser.” – Res Musica

“After their disc of works related to the mythical Arianna, Kate Lindsey and Jonathan Cohen present another remarkable ‘character’ exploration, this time of the tyrant Nero as displayed through works from the 17th and 18th centuries. This is perfect ground for Lindsey and Cohen, both extremely accomplished and transformative performers of Baroque music.” – Opera Choice, BBC Music Magazine

Album Details

  • Released May 2021


  • Kate Lindsey (Mezzo-soprano)
  • Nardus Williams (Soprano)
  • Andrew Staples (Tenor)
  • Arcangelo
  • Jonathan Cohen (direction)


Lorem ipsum

Lorem ipsum

Lorem ipsum


Buy Now


Presto Music